What’s in it for Crypto 202X and Why you should care

Jason Lin
3 min readJul 13, 2021

Allow me to ‘digress’ for a bit. (hint: not really) While I’d intended a series on emerging tech trends and what constitutes the future, I’m going to jump right into my crypto thesis from a few years back. Some edits may be made a little ways down the road, but even after Andreessen Horowitz’s Crypto Startup School, I hold firm on the many ideas I had then.

It is not surprising to find myself in crypto — I had my first taste of cybersecurity early in grade school; from jailbreaking an iPod, homebrew MSN on a Nintendo DS, flashing root firmware on Android 1.6, Windows login bypass with BT3, geohotz and saurik were my heroes; hence it was quite a moment to win compliments from saurik, Cydia’s creator at a hackathon award ceremony!

My passion goes beyond the applied realm: besides thirty hackathons nationwide, I’d authored research papers on quantum cryptography and SDNs in college, doubling down foundations with graduate studies in verified functional programming and cryptocurrency theory, including all the fun stuff about zero knowledge proofs.

But today we are NOT going to talk about digital wallets. I am excited about the future of crypto beyond its role as a currency. In an age where every person has a digital identity, the issue of anonymized consensus and verifiable trust is paramount yet hard to…

--

--